WhatsApp has reportedly changed the purpose of its ‘disappearing’ message feature that was expected to let each user set an expiration time on their messages in group chats. WABetaInfo reported the feature, currently being tested, can only be enabled by group chat admins as a “cleaning tool” to auto-delete older messages in groups. WhatsApp also renamed it to ‘Delete Messages’.
For those who aren’t sure what this feature would do, here is a brief. WhatsApp’s disappearing messages feature would allow users to set a time limit after which the message that they have chosen would expire leaving no trace of its existence. This feature is similar to social messaging app Telegram’s Secret Chat feature wherein all the sent messages come with a self-destruct timer. Once the recipient has read the message the timer will begin and the message will get deleted from the sender and the receiver’s inbox when the timer goes off or when the time limit that is set by the sender expires.
According to reports, WhatsApp’s Dark Mode is coming very soon and some users have already tested it. The dark theme on the messaging app is said to help you save battery of your phone and reduce strain on eyes.